Back to Bangkok


The Grand Palace

The Grand Palace

The moment I stepped out of the bus, and step on Bangkok, just like many other Southeast Asian cities, is a hot and humid conurbation with millions of inhabitants. It was my second time going to the city. But unlike my first visit last summer which I come here for quickly visit and visited interesting places around Grand palace and Siam Square, this time I decided to stay a bit long  in a different part of Bangkok, that is Pratunam. However, this visit was merely an overnight stay because I had to go to Bangkok in order to apply visa.

Traffic in Bangkok

Traffic in Bangkok

Nonetheless, there is one new thing that I experienced in Bangkok: trying its modern mass transport system. Last summer I drive only bus, but this time I did try tuk-tuk, motor-taxi and BTS Skytrain, which are modern and quite convenient ways to get around the city (even though it is still not as sophisticated as Hong Kong’s transport system, but it’s a good start). In fact, the hostel where I stayed at is located not too far from Ratchatevi BTS station. Hence I decided to get around a little and went to Siam Paragon, Central World and Big C which is well-known for brand shopping for shopaholic. One interesting thing at this place on that day was the fact that there was a bomb attack in Bangkok, so the security is alert everywhere that there are lots of people. Moreover, malls in Bangkok close their operation around 7 pm, so it is really short, In that security, I decided to head back to the hostel instead to get some rest because I have important meeting on following day.

BTS Rachatevi

BTS Rachatevi

 

