My Student Life at University of Connecticut, UConn


at UConn

at UConn

It is a dream for every student who want to continue their study at abroad. I do not have a chance, but I got a short training first time in my life for going to join at University of Connecticut, Connecticut, USA. From this forum, I got lots of experience of life as an international student. I got an offer life full time student there.

student

student

For the first day, I got an orientation session session at UConn. I have join with other student to visit around the campus. This orientation is leaded by the senior UConn students. We have introduce many buildings at Campus such as library, conference hall, canteen, sport center, student dormitory and Uconn bookstore.

UConn is home to more than 30,000 students, 1,300 faculty, 230,000 proud alumni, and a handsome husky named Jonathan. The University of Connecticut is one of America’s top 20 public universities, according to U.S. News & World Report. UConn’s main campus in Storrs is admitting the highest-achieving freshmen in University history. Student diversity continues to increase, as does the number of honors students, valedictorians and salutatorians who consistently make UConn their top choice. It’s a great time to be a Husky!

Orientation Day at UCONN

Orientation Day at UCONN

Pavillon

Pavilion

School of Business

School of Business

Pavilion Hall

Pavilion Hall

UConn Library

UConn Library

How to get around the campus?

The students go around campus from one class to other class by using walking, bike, or motorbike. Some students who can afford their living they drive car for going around campus or  outside downtown.

Mopeds are an increasingly popular way for students to get around campus.

Mopeds are an increasingly popular way for students to get around campus.

Food and Drink

food and drink

food and drink

Every student got three meals plan per day: breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Breakfast start from 6:45 AM until 8:30 AM , lunch starts from 11:45 AM till 1: 00 PM, and dinner starts from 5:45 PM till 7:30 PM. If

Students need to check in on time that canteen serve. Each student have meal card plan. when I stay there, I have two colors card: pink one is for breakfast, and grey one is for lunch and dinner.

Food is served with variety type and it have lots of vitamin and protein for students. It start from pizza, omelet, boil egg, french fry, rice, sandwich, bread, soup, cakes, and ice-cream. For drinks, it have more 20 type of tea, more than ten type of coke, and more than five types of milk. After complete meal, student can take some stuff go away. One policy, students can take one or two fruits but not ice cream.  If we take the ice cream so fruits is not allowed to take away.

I have a dinner at McMahon Hall with other students.

I have a dinner at McMahon Hall with other students.

Books, and other stationary

Each students got a package that it contain textbook, pen, and campus map. It is really so impress for me for first time using campus map because this campus is a big campus. Moreover, toiletries also provide like toothpaste, soap, lotion, and shampoo.

Study time

I start to study from 9:00 AM in the morning till 12:15 AM and the afternoon start from 1:30 until 4: 15 PM in the after noon. At the end of the day, we have a small group meeting from 7:00 PM until 9:30 PM. We have many class activity like short quiz, presentation, question and answer, group discussion. We also devide in group to make an action plan what to do after this short training.

Moreover, I get a chance to do a community service in one local high school. All students divide in a part to do in the different place.

UConn Class

UConn Class

Winham Middle School

Winham Middle School

 community service at Winham Middle School

community service at Winham Middle School

Free time

In my free time, students can do many activities. First, I can go to visit the sport center. It take perhaps 30 minute walk from my staying place to the sport center. The student need to show their ID card before go in. That gym have many tools for playing sport: I choose a play football, volleyball and basket ball. and the other room side is for exercise with weight. Besides, we have a room common hall that is near our dormitory. this room open from 9:00 PM till 10:30 PM in the night. Moreover, indoor swimming pool opened  from 9 AM until 10 PM , so we can enjoy swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Last but not list, in UConn it has a small bar there, and some students can go there ,  enjoy drink and drink.

Game Room at Night

Game Room at Night

I and Sotheary on the green grass

I and Sotheary on the green grass

Touch Screen Music Box

Music Box

Play Game

Play Game at Common Rooms

Room

Every students have divide to stay in the same building. In one bedroom, there are three people. I have share room with two other people. One from Mexico and other from Senegal. What lucky is we have three bed for each person.

Final notice

This is a really good experience for me in my life. I hope to meet all you my classmate at Uconn. I hope to get to know your experience. Please share some experience in below comment box. What the next post is my tour in New York. Coming up next.

Please keep follow me on Google+, like my page and follow me on twitter. Thanks for reading.

sitting on the grass

sitting on the grass

